This dish really has no right to be called “bread and butter” pudding because there is neither bread nor butter in it. I had some of my chocolate and prune brownies left over (no reflection on how delicious they were – but there are only so many that a girl can eat, especially when she’s still trying to lose the ‘mummy tummy’ after 12 months!). But I really hate wasting food and I do it far too often as it is. So I was determined not to throw them away without at least experimenting with them first. But what to do with them? Then I thought, “I know – I’ll put them in a dish, make a vanilla egg custard to pour over them and bake them like a bread and butter pudding! What’s the worst that could happen?” So that’s what I did and I threw in some orange zest for good measure. It’s not the most elegant-looking of dishes but it was really yum.

Gluten-free chocolate brownie and orange “bread and butter” pudding

A really simple and comforting dish which is great for using up brownies which are surplus to requirements.

Serves 4

250g chocolate brownies
2 eggs, lightly beaten
6 heaped tbsps half-fat crème fraîche
125ml milk
1 tbsp caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
zest 1 orange

You will also need a 600ml capacity ovenproof dish.

Slice the brownies in half horizontally (so that each brownie becomes two thin brownies). Layer the pieces in the ovenproof dish so that they overlap each other slightly.

In a bowl or jug, whisk together the remaining ingredients until well-combined. Pour over the brownie pieces and leave to soak for half-an-hour, meanwhile preheating the oven to 180°C. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes, or until the custard is set around the edges and still wobbly in the centre. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly before serving.

Serve warm with crème fraîche, single cream or ice cream.

